You go through your friend’s WhatsApp status and you see food or a place that they’ve experienced which you like to do sometime as well.

The first instinct is to take a screenshot.

But hold on… you have this annoying voice at the back of your mind saying … what if? What if WhatsApp notifies the person and you end up looking like a stalker or a loser that takes other people’s pictures

Well, the answer you seek to the lingering doubt above is …

 

nervous chewing gum GIF

 

So… Does WhatsApp Really Notify the Original User When People Take a Screenshot of Their Status (Stories)?

Nope, WhatsApp does not inform anyone.

WhatsApp also does not in any way imply to the owner when you take a screenshot of a status.

 

does whatsapp notify screenshots of status
WhatsApp Status, when screenshotted, will never notify its owner.

 

The exclusion of such a feature does present a premise that can be said to be unethical especially if one takes a screenshot without the other’s explicit consent. So don’t be surprised if WhatsApp does bring the feature back in the future possibly.

Until then, if you’re someone who regularly updates their WhatsApp status yourself, then here are some privacy tips to ensure that you are protected from unknown users taking screenshots of you.

 


subscribe saint


 

How to Protect Yourself Against WhatsApp Status Screenshots

 

If you’re on an iOS device

Then you can enable status privacy by doing the following:

  1. Jump into your WhatsApp’s Settings and then tap on Account.

does whatsapp notify screenshots of status

 

  1. Next tap on Privacy.

WhatsApp Status Privacy

 

  1. Then tap on Status.

does whatsapp notify screenshots of status

 

  1. Now there are three options here: My Contacts, My Contacts Except… and Only Share With…

The default My Contacts option shows your status to everyone in your contacts list. This can be dangerous especially if you have someone that you no longer associate with.

The other two options are My Contacts Except… where it will show the status to people you know except a few and Only Show With… to selectively show to friends that you knew.

We suggest the Only Show With… option as it shows to only people you know. You can add users as time goes by if you’re comfortable sharing your WhatsApp status with them. 🙂

 

does whatsapp notify screenshots of status

 

Once you’ve selected the people you want to share your status with simply hit Done.

 

 

If you’re on Android

Similarly, if you’re on an Android device then you can enable status privacy by doing the following:

  1. Jump into your Status tab and then tap Status Privacy.
  2. Now there are three options here: My Contacts, My Contacts Except… and Only Share With…

As described above under the iOS section, it’s a good choice to go for the third option, Only Show With… option as it shows to only people you know. You can add users as time goes by if you’re comfortable sharing your status with them. 🙂

Once you’ve whitelisted a few of your friends that you’re okay sharing your statuses with, simply hit the big ✅ button. Only the contacts you choose will be able to view your WhatsApp status.

Another great thing is that WhatsApp doesn’t notify the people on the other end when they are added or removed into this list of contacts you choose to share your status with.

 

Feel free to go through the tips and advice from the helpful comments posted by others below.

 

 

If this guide was helpful, please share it. 🙂